Skip to Content

Slideshow

  • THE JEWISH SOUL:
Classics of Yiddish Cinema
  • THE DYBBUK plays Sunday, May 26, Monday, May 27, and Wednesday, May 29.
  • AMERICAN MATCHMAKER plays Sunday, June 2, Wednesday, June 5, and Friday, June 7.
  • HER SECOND MOTHER plays Sunday, June 9, Tuesday, June 11, and Wednesday, June 12.
  • TEVYA plays Sunday, June 16 and Wednesday, June 19.
  • MIR KUMEN ON plays Sunday, June 23 and Wednesday, June 26.
  • OVERTURE TO GLORY plays Sunday, June 30 and Wednesday, July 3.

THE JEWISH SOUL:
Classics of Yiddish Cinema

Sunday, May 26 – Wednesday, July 3

Forget the stereotypes: the Yiddish Cinema is really just like any other world cinema, only ‘writ small.’ In its late 1930's heyday, Yiddish movies – shot in either New York or Poland – covered a broad range of genres: comedies, soap operas, films of the supernatural, literary adaptations, musicals… pretty much everything except westerns and science fiction. The one unifying element is how, through language, gesture, and a common cultural sensibility, these funny, touching, and atmospheric movies captured the essence of the Jewish soul… on the day before the apocalypse.

Restored by Lobster Films, Paris, and presented by Kino Lorber, these beautiful restorations – vastly superior to anything done before – feature, for the first time ever, complete subtitle translations, by noted Yiddish translator (A SERIOUS MAN, BOARDWALK EMPIRE) Allen Lewis Rickman.

Presented with support from the Joan S. Constantiner Fund for Jewish and Holocaust Films, donated by Leon Constantiner and Family.

Films in this Series

Monday, May 27

12:30

Wednesday, May 29

2:10

Wednesday, June 5

12:30

Friday, June 7

12:30

Sunday, June 9

3:35

Tuesday, June 11

12:30

Wednesday, June 12

2:50

Sunday, June 16

3:10

Wednesday, June 19

12:30

Sunday, June 23

3:10

Wednesday, June 26

2:10

Sunday, June 30

1:35

Wednesday, July 3

12:30