Skip to Content

Important Update

Masks are not required, though they are encouraged. While we are no longer checking for proof of vaccination, we do, of course, strongly encourage everyone to be vaccinated. Click here for more information.

Slideshow

MIFUNE REDUX

Friday, July 8 - Thursday, July 21

Back by popular demand! From our recent blockbuster tribute to Toshirō Mifune.

 A 2-week, 10-film series celebrating the legendary Japanese actor's collaborations with director Akira Kurosawa, all presented in 35mm with a new 4k restoration of RASHOMON.

 "The greatest actor-director partnership in film history” - David Shipman

DOWNLOAD SERIES FLYER

Dinner and a Movie Deal!
Present your MIFUNE REDUX ticket stub for $25 off your omakase dinner at MIFUNE, the Michelin-recommended restaurant named after the actor.
245 E. 44th Street, NYC
Deal available July 8 – 16 only.
DETAILS

Reviews

“I am a person rarely impressed by actors…But in the case of Mifune I was completely overwhelmed. The ordinary Japanese actor might need ten feet of film to get across an impression. Toshirō Mifune needed only three feet.”
– Akira Kurosawa

“Under Kurosawa, Mifune’s versatility is phenomenal. It is as though Kurosawa has been able to draw from Mifune something even Mifune did not know he possessed.”
– Donald Richie, The Films of Akira Kurosawa

Films in this Series

醉いどれ天使

Friday, July 8 at 12:30

Sunday, July 10 at 8:50

Tuesday, July 12 at 3:00

Tuesday, July 19 at 12:30   7:50

Wednesday, July 20 at 3:10

野良犬

Friday, July 8 at 2:40

Tuesday, July 12 at 12:30

Saturday, July 16 at 8:35

Wednesday, July 20 at 12:30   7:40

羅生門

Friday, July 8 at 5:20

Sunday, July 10 at 12:30

Monday, July 11 at 9:00

Friday, July 15 at 12:30   6:00

Monday, July 18 at 4:50

Thursday, July 21 at 12:30

七人の侍

Friday, July 8 at 7:20

Saturday, July 9 at 6:30

Sunday, July 10 at 4:50

Thursday, July 14 at 3:30

Monday, July 18 at 12:30

Thursday, July 21 at 7:00

天国と地獄

Saturday, July 9 at 12:30

Monday, July 11 at 12:30

Friday, July 15 at 2:30   8:00

隠し砦の三悪人

Saturday, July 9 at 3:30

Thursday, July 14 at 12:30  7:40

Saturday, July 16 at 1:00

Tuesday, July 19 at 2:40

蜘蛛巣城

Sunday, July 10 at 2:30

Monday, July 11 at 3:40

Saturday, July 16 at 6:15

Tuesday, July 19 at 5:30

Wednesday, July 20 at 5:20

用心棒

Tuesday, July 12 at 5:30

Saturday, July 16 at 3:50

Sunday, July 17 at 12:30   8:45

Monday, July 18 8:55

Thursday, July 21 at 2:30

椿三十郎

Wednesday, July 13 at 12:30   9:00

Sunday, July 17 at 3:00

Monday, June 18 at 6:50

Thursday, July 21 at 4:55

赤ひげ

Wednesday, July 13 at 2:45

Sunday, July 17 at 5:10

Film Forum