Menu Film Forum
PREVIOUSLY PLAYED

“HANK AND JIM”:
Henry Fonda & James Stewart

Friday, October 27 – Thursday, November 16

At the height of the Depression, struggling young New York actors Henry Fonda (from Omaha) and James Stewart (from Indiana, Pennsylvania) became best friends and stayed that way for the rest of their lives (despite political differences so extreme they had to declare a verbal moratorium), eventually becoming among the most respected and beloved of stars, and each embodying, in his own distinctive way, America’s idea of itself. 

Hank and Jim: the Fifty-Year Friendship of Henry Fonda and James Stewart, a new book by Scott Eyman (published by Simon & Schuster), will be available at our concession during the series.

Hear Eyman discusses the unlikely friendship between Henry Fonda and James Stewart on The Leonard Lopate Show

Reviews

“ESSENTIAL! A massive retrospective. The 36-film series let you see the ebb and flow of the two careers in tandem, how the lives form parallel lines of Hollywood history.”
– Farran Nehme, The Village Voice

“Positions the two stars as a study in contrasts.”
The New York Times

Films in this Series

Friday, October 27

THE WRONG MAN
12:30   4:15   8:00
Buy Tickets

ROPE
2:35   6:20   10:10
Buy Tickets

Saturday, October 28

12 ANGRY MEN
3:00   7:30
Buy Tickets

MR. SMITH GOES TO WASHINGTON
12:30   4:55
Buy Tickets

Saturday, October 28

9:30

Sunday, October 29

1:30

Sunday, October 29

4:00

Sunday, October 29

7:00

Sunday, October 29

9:30

Monday, October 30

DRUMS ALONG THE MOHAWK
12:30   5:05   9:45
Buy Tickets

FORT APACHE
2:35   7:15
Buy Tickets

Tuesday, October 31

12:30

Tuesday, October 31

3:00   7:40

Tuesday, October 31

5:10   9:45

Wednesday, November 1

THE OX-BOW INCIDENT
12:30   3:50   7:15
Buy Tickets

BROKEN ARROW
2:05   5:25   8:50
Buy Tickets

Thursday, November 2

WINCHESTER ’73
12:30   4:15   8:00
Buy Tickets

BEND OF THE RIVER
2:25   6:10   9:55
Buy Tickets

Friday, November 3

12:30   4:45   9:00

Friday, November 3

2:45   7:00

Saturday, November 4

CALL NORTHSIDE 777
2:45   7:10
Buy Tickets

THE BOSTON STRANGLER
12:30   4:55   9:20
Buy Tickets

Sunday, November 5

1:30

Sunday, November 5

4:15

Sunday, November 5

7:30

Monday, November 6

THE MOON’S OUR HOME
12:30   4:05   7:40
Buy Tickets

NEXT TIME WE LOVE
2:15   5:50
Buy Tickets

Monday, November 6

9:30

Tuesday, November 7

JEZEBEL
12:30   4:30   8:40
Buy Tickets

YOUNG MR. LINCOLN
2:30   6:35
Buy Tickets

Wednesday, November 8

DESTRY RIDES AGAIN
2:30   6:35
Buy Tickets

DAISY KENYON
12:30   4:25   8:30
Buy Tickets

Thursday, November 9

1:00   3:30

Thursday, November 9

6:30

Friday, November 10

12:30   5:15   10:00

Friday, November 10

2:45   7:30

Saturday, November 11

12:30   4:45   9:00

Saturday, November 11

2:30   6:45

Sunday, November 12

THE MAN WHO SHOT LIBERTY VALANCE
1:30   6:15
Buy Tickets

THE MAN WHO KNEW TOO MUCH
3:55   8:45
Buy Tickets

Monday, November 13

THE MAN WHO SHOT LIBERTY VALANCE
12:30   5:15
Buy Tickets

THE MAN WHO KNEW TOO MUCH
2:55
Buy Tickets

Monday, November 13

7:45

Tuesday, November 14

FAIL-SAFE
12:30   4:45   9:10
Buy Tickets

THE BEST MAN
2:40   7:00
Buy Tickets

Wednesday, November 15

THE FAR COUNTRY
12:30   4:20   8:10
Buy Tickets

THE NAKED SPUR
2:30   6:20   10:10
Buy Tickets

Thursday, November 16

1:00   7:30

Thursday, November 16

4:20