Skip to Content

Slideshow

OZU 120

Friday, June 9 – Thursday, June 29

A complete retrospective of Yasujirō Ozu's extant work, commemorating the 120th anniversary of the director’s birth and the 60th anniversary of his death. 

Though the most honored director in his own country, Yasujirō Ozu (1903-1963) achieved acclaim in the West only after his death on his 60th birthday. For most of his career, this greatest of world filmmakers worked in the uniquely Japanese shomin-geki genre: uncomplicated stories about ordinary people. His favorite themes included families, fathers, and the remembered joys of childhood and college life — little of which he experienced himself. He was separated from his own father at a very young age, and never married or went to college. Ozu’s techniques are among the most eccentric and austere in cinema history: little-to-no camera movement, straight cutting from scene to scene, the unvarying low camera angle (aka “the tatami shot,” from the eye level of someone sitting on a tatami mat), unpeopled "still life" shots bridging sequences — a deceptively simple style, yet one that no other director has been able to replicate.

“If there were something like a sacred treasure of the cinema,
that would have to be the work of Ozu.” 

– Wim Wenders

 

 

The films of Yasujirō Ozu are distributed by JANUS FILMS.

With the collaboration of the Harvard Film Archive.  Special thanks to Haden Guest and Alexandra Vasile.


Selected titles with support from the Ada Katz Fund for Literature in Film.

Programmed by Bruce Goldstein, Repertory Artistic Director.

Films in this Series

Friday, June 9
12:15   5:20 (35mm)

Saturday, June 10
7:30 (35mm)

Sunday, June 11
7:00 (35mm)

Tuesday, June 13
2:30

Wednesday, June 28
12:30   5:30

Friday, June 9
2:35   7:40 (35mm)

Saturday, June 10
12:15  (4K DCP)

Wednesday, June 14
12:30 (4K DCP)

Thursday, June 15
2:10 (4K DCP)

Sunday, June 18
7:55 (35mm)

Tuesday, June 20
12:30 (4K DCP)

Wednesday, June 21
12:30 (4K DCP)

Thursday, June 29
12:30    8:10 (35mm)

Saturday, June 10
3:00

Saturday, June 10
5:10

Monday, June 12
4:25

Sunday, June 11
12:50

Monday, June 12
2:25

Tuesday, June 13
12:30

Wednesday, June 21
8:25 (35mm)

Sunday, June 11
2:50

Sunday, June 11
4:40

Monday, June 12
12:30   8:40

Thursday, June 15
12:15

Saturday, June 17
3:00 (35mm)

Monday, June 12
6:25

Tuesday, June 13
4:50

Thursday, June 15
4:55   8:20

Wednesday, June 14
3:15   8:10

Saturday, June 17
12:30

Sunday, June 18
5:25 (35mm)

Wednesday, June 14
6:00

Thursday, June 15
6:35

Friday, June 16
12:30   5:35

Friday, June 16
2:10   7:15 (35mm)

Saturday, June 17
4:55

Wednesday, June 21
3:15

Saturday, June 17
8:10 (35mm)

Sunday, June 18
2:50

Monday, June 19
2:45
 

Sunday, June 18
11:00

Tuesday, June 20
3:15   8:20

Monday, June 26
12:30

Thursday, June 29
3:15

Thursday, June 22
12:30   6:00

Saturday, June 24
5:15 (35mm)

Thursday, June 22
3:00   8:25 (35mm)

Tuesday, June 27
12:30 (35mm)   7:45 (35mm)

Friday, June 23
12:30   5:50

Saturday, June 24
3:00

Tuesday, June 27
3:25

Friday, June 23
2:45   8:10

Saturday, June 24
12:15

Wednesday, June 28
2:50   7:50

Saturday, June 24
7:40

Sunday, June 25
2:35

Monday, June 26
3:20   8:00

Monday, June 26
6:00

Thursday, June 29
6:20

Film Forum